School Awards

Mandarin Oaks Elementary (MOE) has excellent teachers and staff who continue to help our students achieve great heights. The PTA and parents appreciate all that you do.

2012 – 2013 School Year:

Susan Bass

Mandarin Oaks: Volunteer of the Year

Mrs. Bass has volunteered in many different roles at Mandarin Oaks Elementary School since her two children started kindergarten in 1994. She is always eager to help and is tireless in her efforts to increase the efficiency of the classroom and school. Mrs. Bass has continued to volunteer even after her children have long since graduated. Every Wednesday she brightens the library with her bright smile and enthusiasm as she works the lamination machine to complete every piece that has been sent to her. Congratulations Susan!!!


Ms. Jennifer Brown – 1st Grade Teacher

Mandarin Oaks: Teacher of the Year

Jennifer Brown is a first grade teacher at Mandarin Oaks Elementary and a native to Jacksonville.

Ms. Brown even had the opportunity to attend Mandarin Oaks as a student. After completing her undergraduate and graduate degrees in Elementary Education at the University of Florida, she returned to Jacksonville and fulfilled a childhood dream – to teach at her former elementary school. Currently in her seventh year at MOE, Ms. Brown truly enjoys the role she plays in the lives of her students. Whether by helping them to create an efficient math strategy or tackle a new skill in reading, Ms. Brown loves to watch the minds of these young learners as they grow and change. By creating a strong classroom culture, she always strives to cultivate a class of lifelong learners.

2010 – 2011 School Year:

Almarene Lowndes – Kindergarten Teacher

Mandarin Oaks: Teacher of the Year


2009 – 2010 School Year:

Zak Champagne – 5th Grade Teacher

Mandarin Oaks and Duval County: Teacher of the Year

One of the Top Five Finalists for the State of Florida: Teacher of the Year

(Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and
Science Teaching) Learn More

2008 and 2009 Finalist

Timothy Kenny – 5th Grade Teacher
View Article

Aspiring Leaders Academy Learn More

Three MOE Faculty Members Accepted:

* Timothy Kenny – 5th Grade Math & Science Teacher

* Claire Redmond – Kindergarten Teacher

* Sheila Handres – Former Guidance Counselor

MOE Awards for: Faculty, Staff and Volunteers

2010 – 2011 School Year:

Employee of the Year:
Senior Volunteer of the Year:
Adult Volunteer of the Year: Michelle Farber

2009 – 2010 School Year:

Employee of the Year: Jenny Leonard
Senior Volunteer of the Year: Joseph Lococo
Adult Volunteer of the Year: Michael Brent

MOE School Awards

MOE has earned an “A” grade 10 years in a row!

5 Star School Award – View Criteria

Golden School Award – View Criteria

Red Carpet School Award – View Criteria

Little Red School House Award – View Criteria

Florida School Recognition Award – View Criteria

Accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools

Florida Awards – “Race to the Top” Winner

2009 – 2010 School Year:

The U.S. Department of Education recently announced that Florida is a winner of the federal Race to the Top Phase 2 competition.

This funding will be dedicated to carrying out a broad range of strategies designed to improve the state’s lowest performing schools and increase the academic achievement of Florida’s students.

Congratulations to Florida’s teachers and students for this next step in education reform!